Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

historical fiction

*KLAXON* Exclusive extract

If you love delving into some historical fiction, or were gripped by the TV series The Crown, we think we have just the thing for you with Gill Paul’s beautifully written novel Another Woman’s Husband .  Two women who challenged the Crown. Divided by time. Bound by a secret… This is the latest gripping novel […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

The story of LETTERS FROM THE SUITCASE

Letters From The Suitcase is an enchanting, poignant and incredibly moving account of the five year early marriage between two lovers divided by war – and the legacy they left for their only child. Written by Cal and Rosheen Finnagan, this is a hugely detailed wartime correspondance between Rosheen’s parents, David and Mary Francis. Cal tells us […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

My Perfect Weekend…with Marina Fiorato

The weekend is on the horizon and to celebrate we caught up with Marina Fiorato, author of the dark, sumptuous and gothic Crimson and Bone, which is out today, to find out how she imagines her perfect weekend. Long lie-in or up with the lark? If I’m in the middle of writing, I’ll get up […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Marino Fiorato Cover Reveal

We’re thrilled to reveal the cover of bestselling historical fiction author Marina Fiorato’s next novel Crimson and Bone, which Hodder & Stoughton are publishing in April next year.   Crimson and Bone is a darkly gothic story of love and obsession set in Victorian London is steeped in the period, encompassing its glamorous high society […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Alexander Hamilton: the sexiest revolutionary

Elizabeth Cobb, author of The Hamilton Affair, on resurrecting a real-life historical romance . When I told friends five years ago that I was starting a novel about the sexiest man in the American Revolution—Alexander Hamilton—they looked blank. Then their eyes filled with pity. Who would publish such a misbegotten book? When Lin Manuel Miranda […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

‘Literature is a treasure trove of memorable, wonderful characters… how do you choose?’ – We put Tracy Rees in the hot seat

Being asked to pick just five favourite fictional heroines is hard! It’s a bit like being asked, “what’s your favourite book?”. Literature is a treasure trove of memorable, wonderful characters… how do you choose? It’s also a particularly salient question for me just now. With my second novel, Florence Grace, just published, I’ve been delighted […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

The Spark in the Void by Debra Daley

When the novel you wrote arrives at your door in a parcel from the publisher, it’s a strange, dissociative moment. At least it is for me. I open the parcel, pull out the book in its handsome jacket, and think, ‘Wow! Where did this come from?!’ Because it still amazes me the way a story […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Try Something New: Historical Fiction

If the term ‘historical fiction’ automatically makes you think of ancient old school books, then we’ve got to do something about that! Here we have six fantastic reads that are going to blow those dusty old tomes out of the water (and out of your memories) and have you reaching for the history books with relish! Full of […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Books on my bedside table by Sarah Vaughan

Just Boris: A Tale of Blond Ambition My WIP is partly inspired by my experience as a political correspondent for the Guardian so I’ve been consuming political memoirs and biographies: former minister Chris Mullin’s A View from the Foothills is also by my bed. Sonia Purnell doesn’t spare her punches as she outlines Boris Johnson’s […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Meet Annabelle Thorpe – our newest kid on the bloc!

Bookend-ers, please say hello to Annabelle Thorpe! Annabelle has been a travel and features journalist for fifteen years, writing for all sorts of national prints and online media, including the Times, Sunday Times Travel Magazine and Express. The People We Were Before is Annabelle’s debut novel, and believe us when we tell you – it’s an absolute […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

EXCLUSIVE COVER REVEAL

We’re very excited to reveal the cover of the stunning second novel from the Sunday Times bestselling author of Amy Snow. Perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley and Dinah Jefferies’ The Tea Planter’s Wife. Florrie Buckley is an orphan, living on the wind-blasted moors of Cornwall. It’s a hard existence but Florrie is content; she […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

Laurie Graham talks about the inspiration behind THE NIGHT IN QUESTION

This month, Laurie Graham follows in the footsteps of the most famous murderer in history, and takes a closer look at the lives of the women he hunted. Often lumped together as ‘The Ripper victims’, Laurie brings them to life as individuals in a book that is touching and often hilarious. Full of wonderful characters […]

Read More
Related Categories: Bookends News

We use cookies to enhance your visit to us. By using our website you agree to our use of these cookies. Find out more.