Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

When the Eagle Hunts (Eagles of the Empire 3)

When the Eagle Hunts (Eagles of the Empire 3)

WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow’s bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

After a series of bloody battles, Camulodunum (modern-day Colchester) has fallen to the invading Roman army. The Emperor has returned to Rome, leaving the fearless Centurion Macro and his young Optio, Cato, to rest and regroup, along with the rest of the Second Legion.

As their leader General Plautius plans the next phase of their campaign, word arrives that the ship carrying his family to join him was wrecked in a storm off the south coast. His wife and children have fallen into the hands of a dark sect of Druids, who now demand the return of those of their brotherhood taken prisoner by the Romans. Unless their demands are met within one month, Plautius’s family will be burned alive.

Will Cato and Macro discover where the Druids are hiding their hostages? And can they find some way to rescue them before time runs out?

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 24th October 2013

Price: £14.99

ISBN-13: 9781472216106

Reviews

Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read'
Bernard Cornwell
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best
Independent
Gripping and moving
The Times
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff
Good Book Guide
Ferocious and compelling
Daily Express
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction
Sunday Sport
Rollicking good fun
Mail on Sunday
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller
BBC History Magazine