Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

Britannia (Eagles of the Empire 14)

IF YOU DON’T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON’T KNOW ROME!

A Sunday Times
bestseller. Shortlisted for the Wilbur Smith Adventure Writing Prize.


Simon Scarrow’s veteran Roman soldier heroes face a cunning and relentless enemy in BRITANNIA, the unforgettable fourteenth novel in the bestselling Eagles of the Empire series.

Roman Britain, AD 52. The western tribes prepare to make a stand. But can they match the discipline and courage of the legionaries?

Wounded Centurion Macro remains behind in charge of the fort as Prefect Cato leads an invasion deep into the hills. Cato’s mission: to cement Rome’s triumph over the natives by crushing the Druid stronghold. But with winter drawing in, the terrain is barely passable through icy rain and snowstorms.

When Macro’s patrols report that the natives in the vicinity of the garrison are thinning out, a terrible suspicion takes shape in the battle-scarred soldier’s mind. Has the acting Governor, Legate Quintatus, underestimated the enemy? If there is a sophisticated and deadly plan afoot, it’s Cato and his men who will pay the price…

Includes maps, chart and author Q&A.

Genre: Fiction & Related Items / Historical Fiction

On Sale: 7th April 2016

Price: £8.99

ISBN-13: 9781472213303

Reviews

A new book in Simon Scarrow's long-running series about the Roman army is always a joy... It is heartening for fans of Cato and Macro that their adventures remain as lively as ever
Antonia Senior, The Times
Fourteen books in and he manages to make the series fresh again, a new depth to Macro and Cato, a new edge to the Roman world and conflicts in Britannia, all achieved with style and a simply splendid plot line. Highly recommended
Parmenion Books
Britannia ... among the very best and quite possibly my favourite. From the opening chapter, Scarrow plunges us deep into a place that is as dangerous as it is atmospheric, the winter creeping in, beset by the hostility of the people who live in these hills... The action and drama never let up from first to last pages... There is one scene in particular involving Cato and boats during a great storm that is absolutely fantastic, brilliantly written and imagined
Winternights Blog
Praise for Simon's earlier novels 'A good, uncomplicated, rip-roaring read
Mail on Sunday
I don't need this kind of competition
Bernard Cornwell
Simon Scarrow's stories of Roman military action in Britain have gathered quite a fan club and it's not hard to see why... Scarrow is highly skilled at describing violent action... for those who like their historical fiction to include plenty of bloody thrills and spills
Living History
An engrossing storyline, full of teeth-clenching battles, political machinations, treachery, honour, love and death...More please!
Elizabeth Chadwick
Tremendous
Daily Express
Scarrow's rank with the best
Independent
Scarrow's engaging pair of heroes... top stuff
Daily Telegraph
What an amazing roller-coaster of a ride... this book is fantastic... So startlingly good, so utterly readable - and so very, very courageous
Manda Scott
Gripping and moving story about the war and the protagonists' fractured friendships... [Scarrow's] sense of plot and pace is strong
The Times